Utility Menu

sculpture image.01

Upstate Monumental Sculpture Collection

The Curtis R. Harley Art Gallery features monumental outdoor sculptures on the University campus. These works have included artists like Mike Williams of Columbia, SC, Catherine Murray of East Tennessee State University,  Adam Walls of the University of North Carolina Pembroke, and Bob Doster of Lancaster, SC. Sculptures are added on a yearly basis. There are currently a total of 21 pieces on view.

Available to viewers year-round, these works can be seen in front of the Sansbury Campus Life Center, the Performing Arts Center, the Horace Smith building, Tukey Theatre and the Library. The PDF Sculpture Map is available for locating works on the campus grounds. For more information contact Gallery Director Jane Nodine.

Permanent Collection

PDF Sculpture Map  

Gallery.jubranBig Red One

Artist: Hanna Jubran
Professor of Art-Sculpture
East Carolina University
Greenville, NC
jubranh@mail.ecu.edu

Located at the Sansbury Campus Life Center
Gallery.galluchiGothic Gate

Artist: Jim Gallucci
Greensboro, NC
http://www.jimgalluccisculptor.com/

Located at the Performing Arts Center
 
gallery.milspaugh

Red Sails

Artist: Dan Millspaugh
Professor of Art
UNC Asheville
dmillspaugh@unca.edu

Located at the Horace Smith building

Gallery.wingo

Gun Amnesty Memorial  

Artist: Winston Wingo
Spartanburg, SC
Wingowa@spartanburg6.k12.sc.us

Located at Tukey Theatre

Gallery.ashton

Arch

Artist: Daingerfield Ashton
Spartanburg, SC
ARDT123@aol.com

Located in the Performing Arts Center quad

Gallery.walls

Solution

Artist: Adam Walls
Cowpens, SC
awalls@bellsouth.net
http://www.sc.edu/usctimes/articles/2006-07/walls_sculptures.html\

Located at the Mary Black School of Nursing

 

Contact
Fine Arts and Communication Studies
Performing Arts Center 125

Lee Neibert
Department Chair
864-503-5000
lneibert@uscupstate.edu

USC Upstate Visual Arts
Visual Arts Center
800 University Way
Spartanburg, South Carolina 29303
864-503-5689
Fax: 864-503-5835

Becky Bradham
Administrative Assistant

864-503-5689
rbradham@uscupstate.edu


Jane Allen Nodine
Professor of Art

864-503-5838
jnodine@uscupstate.edu

www.janenodine.com

Dr. Mary Lou Hightower
Assoc. Professor of Art Education
864-503-5817
mhightower@uscupstate.edu


Dr. Rachel Snow
Assoc. Professor of Art History

864-503-5853
rsnow@uscupstate.edu


Matthew Donaldson
Assistant Professor of Graphic Design
864-503-5829
mdonaldson@uscupstate.edu

www.matthew-donaldson.com

Bridget Kirkland
Assistant Professor of Graphic Design
864-503-5824
bkirkland@uscupstate.edu

www.bridgetkirkland.com

Michael Marks
Assistant Professor of Art
864-503-5803
mmarks2@uscupstate.edu

www.michaelraymarks.com

Mark Flowers
Gallery Coordinator
Curtis R. Harley Art Gallery
864-503-5848
mflowers@uscupstate.edu
www.mountainteastudios.com