Mathematics Faculty

Brett Barwick PhotoBrett Barwick

Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Ph.D., University of South Carolina

Hodge 239
bbarwick@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5206
http://faculty.uscupstate.edu/bbarwick

Areas of Interest:
Commutative algebra, free resolutions, algebraic combinatorics, algebraic geometry, and algebraic number theory.

Gamal Elnagar PhotoGamal Elnagar

Professor, Mathematics
Ph.D., Mississippi State University

Hodge 231
gelnagar@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5216

Areas of Interest: Optimal control in climate modeling, optimal control theory with economic applications, numerical solution of nonlinear conservation laws, and game theory and applications.

Muhammad Hameed PhotoMuhammad Hameed

Associate Professor, Mathematics
Ph.D., New Jersey Institute of Technology-Rutgers

Hodge 220
mhameed@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5371
http://faculty.uscupstate.edu/mhameed

Areas of Interest: Applied mathematics and modeling, asymptotic analysis, computational fluid dynamics, non-Newtonian and biofluids, moving boundary problems.

Mike Hudak PhotoMike Hudak

Instructor, Mathematics
Ph.D., Ohio University

Hodge 207
mhudak@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5237

Steve Hyun PhotoSeunggeun Hyun

Associate Professor, Mathematics
Ph.D., University of North Carolina at Charlotte

Hodge 217
shyun@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5228
http://faculty.uscupstate.edu/shyun

Areas of Interest:
Survival analysis of competing risks data, univariate failure time data, multivariate failure time data and longitudinal data.

Bernard OmoloBernard Omolo

Associate Professor, Mathematics
Ph.D., Texas Tech University

Hodge 223
bomolo@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5362
http://faculty.uscupstate.edu/bomolo

Areas of Interest:
Cancer, DNA microarray and next-generation sequence data analysis, extreme events, and genetic epidemiology.

Tommy Ordoyne PhotoTommy J. Ordoyne

Senior Instructor, Mathematics
M.S., Clemson University

Hodge 219
tordoyne@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5225

Angie Starrett PhotoAngie Starrett

Instructor, Mathematics
M.S., Clemson University

Hodge 238
astarrett@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5229

Chuck Stavely PhotoCharles E. Stavely

Emeritus Professor, Mathematics
M.S., Memphis State University

Hodge 234
cstavely@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5360
http://faculty.uscupstate.edu/cstavely

Alex Timonov PhotoAlex Timonov

Associate Professor, Mathematics
Ph.D., Russian Academy of Sciences

Hodge 206
atimonov@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5042

Areas of Interest:
Inverse problems, nonlinear partial differential equations, numerical methods, non-convex optimization, scientific computing and applications to the natural sciences and industry.

Kelly Waters PhotoL. Kelly Waters

Associate Professor, Mathematics
Ph.D., Clemson University

Hodge 232
kwaters@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5156
http://faculty.uscupstate.edu/kwaters

Areas of Interest:
Computational analysis, numerical methods, and discrete computation.

Ann Waddell PhotoElizabeth Ann Waddell

Instructor, Mathematics
M.A.T., Converse College

Hodge 230
ewaddell@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5224

Xinli Wang PhotoXinli Wang

Assistant Professor, Mathematics
Ph.D., New Jersey Institute of Technology-Rutgers

Hodge 241
xwang@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5226
http://faculty.uscupstate.edu/xwang

Areas of Interest:
Computational fluid dynamics, asymptotic analysis, data mining and bioinformatics.

Bill White PhotoWilliam H. White

Senior Instructor, Mathematics
M.S., Clemson University

Hodge 210
bwhite@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5359
http://faculty.uscupstate.edu/bwhite

Chris Woodard PhotoChris Woodard

Math Tutoring Director
M.S., Clemson University

Hodge 242A
cwoodard@uscupstate.edu
(864) 503-5296

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Staff

Peggy WilliamsPeggy Williams

Administrative Assistant

Hodge 201
pwilliams@uscupstate.edu
Phone: (864) 503-5305
Fax: (864) 503-5930

Division Chair
Dr. Jerome Lewis

More Information
Mathematics Club  

Contact Us
USC Upstate
Division of Mathematics and
Computer Science
800 University Way
Spartanburg, SC 29303
Phone: 864-503-5305
Fax: 864-503-5930
Faculty & Staff Directory