Utility Menu

George Masthead 5

Wells Fargo Speaker Series

Tuesday, February 3, 12:05 p.m.-12:55 p.m.
The George Dean Johnson Jr. College of Business
BMW Classroom (Room 150)
160 E. Saint John St.
Spartanburg, SC

Register online!

Brian Nash
Brian M. Nash

Director of Business Development of the Economic Futures Group

Brian Nash joined the Spartanburg Economic Futures Group in 2009 as the Director of Business Development. Over the course of the last five years Spartanburg County has won the recruitment or expansion of over 100 projects, resulting in $1.65 Billion in capital investment and the creation of over 6,000 jobs. 

Prior to joining the Economic Futures Group, Brian had a successful seven year career in industrial real estate development and was part of a team that developed over 7 Million Square Feet across the Southeast U.S. in 7 years and sold a $250 million square feet industrial portfolio consisting of 5 million square feet.

Brian grew up in Central Florida and graduated from Wofford College in 1999 with a Bachelor of Arts in Business Economics. He and his wife, Jaime, reside in Spartanburg County with their daughter, Gloria.

R. Carter Smith
R. Carter Smith, CEcD

Executive Vice President of Economic Futures Group

Carter Smith came to the Spartanburg Area Chamber of Commerce in 1991. Mr. Smith received his bachelor's degree from the Baptist College at Charleston in 1975 and completed the Economic Development Institute at the University of Oklahoma in Norman, Oklahoma in 1983. Mr. Smith has over 30 years experience in economic development in South Carolina, of which 22 of those years have been served in Spartanburg. He received his Certified Economic Developer designation in 1987.  



David Britt
David Britt

Spartanburg County Council Member, District 3

David Britt was elected to the Spartanburg County Council in 1991, where he is currently chairman of the Economic Development Committee. Before that, he served on many prestigious committees and boards. He was a member of the council personnel and finance committee, vice chairman of the economic development information system, member of the SC advisory committee on intergovernmental relations and a District 7 School Board member. He was a Leadership Spartanburg Graduate in 1983.

He is very involved in his community. From 1983-1992 he was organizer and director of the “Great SC Mountains to the Sea Marathon,” which benefits the Ronald McDonald House of Charleston and Columbia, the SC Special Olympics and Hospice of South Carolina. He’s a former member of the Spartanburg Technical Industrial Steering Committee, Converse Heights Neighborhood Association, United Services Council, United Way of the Piedmont and Spartanburg Development Association. The governor appointed him a South Carolina Economic Development Ambassador and he is a member of the Economic Futures Group.

David graduated from Wofford College in 1977. He is a member of the First Presbyterian Church, where he is an elder and former deacon. He also teaches senior high school Sunday School classes there. Since 1988, he has been vice president of sales at Tindall Corporation. He is married to the former Susan McCall and has two children, Betsy and McCall.

Click here for an archive of previous Wells Fargo Series speakers. 

Downtown Campus Information
Campus Shuttle and Parking
Driving Directions
Building Hours
I.D. Cards and Parking Decals 
Expected Business Dress 
Tobacco Use Policy 

News and Events

Business Blitz Week
Johnson Innovation Series
Wells Fargo Speaker Series 
SunTrust Financial Literacy Program
Johnson College in the News 
JCBE Happy Video 
SARS System

Johnson College Resources
Letter from the Dean
Leadership Advisory Council
Master Schedule
Registration and Advising
New Business Course Listings
Exam Schedule
Frequently Asked Questions
Johnson College Faculty
Student of the Month
Beta Gamma Sigma

Support the JCBE
Facility Room Rental


The Studio

Contact Us

Frank Rudisill, Ph.D.
an, Professor of Management
Phone: 864-503-5511

Amy Henderson
Administrative Assistant to the Dean
Phone: 864-503-5312

Elnora Stuart, Ph.D.
Associate Dean, Professor of Marketing
Phone: 864-503-5588

Brian Smith
Technology Coordinator

Deborah Sparks  
Administrative Assistant
Student Services
Phone: 864-503-5580

Hannah Terpack
Freshmen Advisor & Student Services Coordinator
Phone: 864-503-5049

Sarah C. Butler
Transfer Advisor & Student Services Coordinator

George Dean Johnson, Jr.
College of Business and Economics

160 East St. John Street
Spartanburg, SC 29306
Phone: 864-503-5580
Fax: 864-503-5583
Faculty & Staff Directory

Greenville Campus
The University Center
225 S. Pleasantburg Drive
Greenville, SC 29607