Utility Menu

New Featured Teachers masthead

Featured Teachers

Summer Faculty Innovation Grant Recipients 
Congratulations to the Summer Faculty As part of USC Upstate’s commitment to excellence in teaching and learning, the Office of Academic Affairs, through funding from the USC Upstate Foundation, awarded ten $5,000 summer teaching and learning innovation grants to stimulate experimentation and collaboration around designing more engaging and effective learning environments. The 2015 recipients come from diverse disciplines and areas of specialization:  

  • Lola Bradley and Bree Kirsch – Turning LIBR 201 into a hybrid course using a flipped classroom model and incorporating service-learning
  • Chase DeHan – Developing a flipped classroom for Finance 363
  • Samantha Hauptman and Lynn McMillan – Childhood Trauma: Potential Pathway to the Criminal Justice System (interdisciplinary course)
  • David Marlow – International ESOL Service-Learning for Diversity and Understanding
  • Tish Oney – New course development: Music of Black Americans
  • Allison Pingley – Developing political behavior course as service-learning course
  • Araceli Hernandez-Laroche and Samantha Hauptman – The Twin Ills of Terrorism and Torture: A Global Perspective (interdisciplinary course)
  • Tom Rogers – Creating a fully asynchronous lab for EMTG 320L: Engineering Cost Analysis Lab
  • Sharon T. Smith – Integrating second life into the Childbearing and Women’s Health Curriculum
  • Rachel Snow – Spartanburg Art Museum Service-Learning Seminar

New Faculty Spotlight
Learn more about the newest educators to join the USC Upstate community!

CETL Faculty Form
The Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning Faculty Form is your voice in featuring new faculty on our website.

USC Upstate Excellence in Teaching and Advising Award
The USC Upstate Excellence in Teaching and Advising Award at USC Upstate recognizes excellence in undergraduate instruction and academic advisement. The overriding criterion for selection is sustained excellence in undergraduate teaching and academic advisement. That is, consistency in quality of performance in the classroom and academic advisement are emphasized. Click here for previous award recipients.

2015 Award Recipients

Lisa Johnson Headshot
Lisa Johnson, Ph.D.
Director, Center for Women's and Gender Studies




Jeff Smith Headshot
Jeff Smith
Instructor of Management 
George Dean Johnson, Jr. College of Business and Economics


Contact Us

Dr. June Carter
Director of Center for
Excellence in Teaching
and Learning

Lynda Davis
Administrative Assistant

Our Partners

Dr. John Masterson
Senior Vice Chancellor for
Academic Affairs

Dr. Clif Flynn
Associate Vice Chancellor for
Academic Affairs

Cindy Jennings
Director of Learning Technologies 
Phone: 864-503-5470

Susannah Waldrop
Director of the Academic Support Center
Phone: 864-503-5414

Advisory Committee List

Center for Excellence in Teaching and Learning
800 University Way
Media Building 248 A & B
Spartanburg, SC 29303
Phone: 864-503-5881
Faculty/Staff Directory