USC Upstate News

USC Upstate Honors Employees at May Day Picnic

05- 08- 2009

Spartanburg, S.C. - On May 6, The University of South Carolina Upstate held its annual May Day Picnic where faculty and staff were honored and recognized.

Fred ScottFred Scott, project manager for the Facilities Department, was named the Classified Employee of the Year. Scott managed the construction of the Health Education Complex, by far the largest construction project on the USC Upstate campus; was instrumental in coordinating what has come to be called “the Big Move” - the shuffle of offices and departments around campus once the Mary Black School of Nursing and the School of Education moved into the Health Education Complex; and is now managing the construction of the Magnolia House, USC Upstate’s newest residence hall.

In presenting the award, USC Upstate Chancellor John Stockwell cited Scott’s vision, teamwork, patience, work ethic, diligence, tirelessness and ability to listen.

Nominators made several similar comments about Scott: “Fred managed multiple moves, renovations and new facility openings with professionalism and grace demonstrated under what would be extreme stress for most people. His leadership of these events led to enhanced facilities and greater efficiency of space for our students, faculty and staff.” Also, “As important as the completion of the projects…is the attitude and manner in which he performs his tasks. He is always kind, respectful of the unit’s needs, professional in dealing with contractors and an outstanding team player.”

The following retirees were recognized:  Edward Babin, Dept of Sociology, Criminal Justice & Women’s Studies; Jim Brown, Dept of History, Political Science, Philosophy & American Studies; Tracy Caldwell, Betty Davis, Karen Peel, Sharon H. Smith, Mary Black School of Nursing; Carol Gardner, School of Education; Lyle Campbell, Alice Claggett, Gill Newberry,  Division of Natural Sciences & Engineering; Jim Ferrell, Greenville Campus; Rick Jones, University Police; Patsy Kirtsey, Postal Services; Happy Montgomery, Academic Affairs; Holle Schnieder-Ricks, Library Services; Hester Sloan, Burroughs Child Development Center; Jim Spencer, M. B. Ulmer, Division of Math & Computer Sciences.

The 30-Year State Service Award recipients were: Betty Davis, Mary Black School of Nursing; Jan Griffin, Evan Krauter, Department of Psychology; Beverly Johnson, Records and Registration; Dwight Lambert, College of Arts & Sciences; Ronald Sobczak, Division of Natural Sciences & Engineering.

The 20-Year State Service Award recipients were:  Eris Bagwell, Financial Services; Scott Corbin, Information Technology & Services; Jennifer Easler, Enrollment Services; Clif Flynn, College of Arts & Sciences; Julian Green, Division of Natural Sciences & Engineering; Thomas Ordoyne, Division of Math & Computer Sciences; Anne Stokes, Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice & Women’s Studies; Mary Smith, Center for Women’s & Gender Studies.

The 10-Year State Service Award recipients were:  Christopher Bender, Sarah Campbell, David Ferris, Division of Natural Sciences & Engineering; Nancy Callicott, College of Arts & Sciences; Jennifer Calloway, Chris Hawkins,  Barbara White, Athletics Department; Jay Coffman, Department of Languages, Literature & Composition; Gail Corning, School of Education - Sumter Campus; Donald Dickerson, Bookstore; Mary Hoey, Employee Relations; Amy Henderson, Bill Word, George Dean Johnson, Jr. College of Business & Economics; Mickey Jennings, Facilities Management; Patsy Kirtsey, Postal Services; Camille McCutcheon, Library Services; Andrew Myers, Department of History, Political Science, Philosophy & American Studies; Shirley Parton, Human Resources; Kimberly Purdy, Department of Psychology; Judy Srock, Special Events & Facilities Scheduling.