USC Upstate News

USC Upstate Foundation Unveils New Name and Logo

07- 06- 2009

Spartanburg, S.C. - For 36 years the fundraising arm at the University of South Carolina Upstate has been the Carolina Piedmont Foundation. To be more reflective of the relationship between USC Upstate and the mission of the Foundation, a new name was instituted on July 1, 2009. The new name is the University of South Carolina Upstate Foundation (USC Upstate Foundation). 

USC Upstate Foundation LogoThe original Foundation was established in 1973 to “secure private, corporate, and institutional funding to support the mission of the University of South Carolina Upstate as a metropolitan university.” The Foundation accepts gifts for charitable, benevolent, cultural, and educational purposes for the exclusive use and benefit of the University of South Carolina Upstate.

“In addition to a name change, the Foundation has also undergone an organizational and structural change,” said Mike Irvin, vice chancellor for university advancement at USC Upstate. “In line with the foundations at USC in Columbia and other not-for-profits, the USC Upstate Foundation will be reorganized to consist of a 30-member Board of Directors that will include a 10-member Board of Governors, which will also serve as the Executive Committee.”

According to Irvin, the Board of Governors will meet more frequently and handle the immediate needs and the business of the Foundation, while the Board of Directors will meet twice each year to approve funding requests from the University, review the annual budget, and use their influence and prestige in the community to assist the Advancement office by identifying prospects to financially support the University.

At the recent annual meeting of the Foundation, the following were elected as new officers:  Dr. David Dedmon, a local dentist, President; Nancy Riehle with Green Growth Development, Vice-President; Karen Calhoun with McMillan Smith & Partners, Secretary; and Ray Brandt with Brandt Elliott and Painter, LLP, Treasurer. New board members elected include: Cyndi Waters '83 with Carolina Alliance Bank, Troy Hanna with Carolina First Bank, Claus Foerster '85 with Morgan Keegan, Steve Harvey '80 with Roebuck Advertising, and Dan Collins '03 with Fluor.  Tommy Young with Young Office and John Poole with Carolina Alliance Bank both rotated off the Foundation board after 10 years and 20 years, respectively, of continued service.

The University of South Carolina Upstate is a coeducational, public, comprehensive metropolitan institution that is located in Spartanburg along the thriving economic I-85 corridor between Atlanta and Charlotte. USC Upstate is home to 5,000 students from 38 states and 71 nations. It offers challenging, first-rate academic courses, small class sizes, personal experiences, remarkable diversity, an expansive international community, and a dynamic campus life.

To learn more about the USC Upstate Foundation or to make a donation, contact (864) 503-5209 or visit