Utility Menu

Core Requirement 2.1

The institution has degree-granting authority from the appropriate government agency or agencies. (Degree-granting Authority)  

Judgement: Compliant


The University of South Carolina Upstate (USC Upstate) is a senior campus in the University of South Carolina (USC) system, which includes the Columbia campus, three senior campuses (USC Aiken, USC Beaufort, and USC Upstate) and four regional campuses (USC Lancaster, USC Salkehatchie, USC Sumter and USC Union).  The South Carolina (SC) Code of Laws, Title 59, Chapter 101, Section  59-101-10 “Designation of State colleges and universities” lists the University of South Carolina as a university within the state of South Carolina. 

According to the Bylaws of the Board of Trustees of the University of South Carolina, the overarching purpose is to “define the mission, role and scope of the University System and each of its major component institutions..., establish the general policies of the University System..., lay out the University System’s broad program of educational activity..., approve the budget for the next fiscal year, and...provide ultimate accountability to the public and the General Assembly.”  The Board grants USC Upstate degree-granting authority through its power to define the mission, scope and role of its component institutions as stated in the Bylaws of the University of South Carolina Board of Trustees, Article III, Section 1 “Duties of the Board”

Created by the SC Code of Laws, Title 59, Chapter 103, Section 59-103-15  “Higher education mission and goals”, the South Carolina Commission on Higher Education (SCCHE) is charged with furthering the state’s higher education goal “to be a global leader in providing a coordinated, comprehensive system of excellence in education by providing instruction, research, and life-long learning opportunities which are focused on economic development and benefit the State of South Carolina.”  As such, they provide oversight to all South Carolina colleges and universities. The SC Code of Laws, Title 59, Chapter 103, Section 59-103-35 “Submission of budget; new and existing programs,” gives the SCCHE the authority to approve degree programs for colleges and universities in the state of South Carolina.  The section states, “No new program may be undertaken by any public institution of higher education without the approval of the commission. The provisions of this chapter apply to all college parallel, transferable, and associate-degree programs of technical and comprehensive education institutions.”

Support Documents:

Contact Us 

USC Upstate
800 University Way
Spartanburg, SC 29303
Toll-free: 800-277-8727
Phone: 864-503-5000
E-mail Us 

Faculty/Staff Directory