Administration building at USC Upstate

Administration

Chancellor Brendan Kelly, Ph.D. at USC Upstate

Brendan B. Kelly, Ph.D.

Chancellor

bkelly@uscupstate.edu 

Since becoming chancellor of the University of South Carolina (USC) Upstate in March 2017, Dr. Brendan B. Kelly has articulated an ambitious vision for the university aimed at creating transformative opportunities for students and the communities of South Carolina’s Upstate region and beyond.

Clifton P. Flynn, Ph.D

Provost and Senior Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

cflynn@uscupstate.edu

Dr. Clifton P. Flynn is provost, senior vice chancellor for academic affairs and a professor of sociology at the University of South Carolina Upstate. He earned his Ph.D. from the University of North Carolina at Greensboro and has been at USC Upstate since 1988.

Meredith Brunen

Meredith N. Brunen, Ed.D.

Vice Chancellor for University Advancement and Executive Director of USC Upstate Foundation

mbrunen@uscupstate.edu

Dr. Meredith N. Brunen is the vice chancellor for university advancement and she serves as the chief philanthropic officer and executive director of the USC Upstate Foundation.

Daniel Feig

Daniel Feig, J.D.

Director of Athletics and Vice Chancellor for Intercollegiate Athletics

dfeig@uscupstate.edu

Daniel Feig was introduced as the director of Athletics and Vice Chancellor for Intercollegiate Athletics at USC Upstate on May 29, 2018.

Stacey Mills

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Regional Engagement and Executive Director of USC Upstate Greenville Campus

smills@uscupstate.edu

Stacey Mills graduated from USC Upstate in 2003. In 2016, he became executive director of USC Upstate’s Greenville Campus.

Donette Stewart

Donette Stewart

Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Services and Director of Admissions

dstewart@uscupstate.edu

Donette serves as the vice chancellor for Enrollment Services at the University of South Carolina Upstate.

Sheryl Turner-Watts

Sheryl Turner-Watts

Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration

sturner-watts@uscupstate.edu

Sheryl Turner-Watts is the chief financial and operations officer and vice chancellor for finance and administration.

Alphonso Atkins Jr., J.D.

Chief Diversity Officer

aratkins@uscupstate.edu

As Special Assistant to the Chancellor for Equity and Inclusion, Alphonso Atkins Jr. serves as the Chief Diversity Officer and EO/Title IX Coordinator for USC Upstate.

Jessica Blais

Associate Vice Chancellor for Strategic Communications and Marketing

jblais@uscupstate.edu

Jessica Blais oversees all communications and marketing initiatives as part of the University Advancement division, and serves as a member of the Chancellor’s Cabinet.

Derham Cole

Associate Vice Chancellor for Finance and Administration

jdcole2@uscupstate.edu

Derham Cole joined USC Upstate in December 2018 as associate vice chancellor for finance and administration.

Andre Fortune, Ph.D.

Vice Chancellor of Student Affairs

afortune@uscupstate.edu

Dr. André L. Fortune joined USC Upstate as vice chancellor for Student Affairs in July 2019. 

Adam Long

Chief Information Officer

calong@uscupstate.edu

Adam Long serves as the Chief Information Officer at USC Upstate.

Kim Purdy, Ph.D.

Assistant Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and Dean of University College

kpurdy@uscupstate.edu

Dr. Kim Purdy is the dean of University College and a professor of psychology at USC Upstate. 

Khrystal Smith, Ph.D.

Interim Dean of Students

ksmith@uscupstate.edu

Dr. Khrystal Smith was named interim dean of students at USC Upstate in January 2019. Since 2015, she has served as the university’s assistant dean of students and director of student life where she oversees several programs.

Pam Steinke, Ph.D.

Vice Provost and Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs

psteinke@uscupstate.edu

Dr. Pamela Steinke serves as Vice Provost and Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs and SACSCOC Institutional Liaison.