Utility Menu

Upstate Gallery

UPSTATE Gallery on Main

View the 2016 - 2017 exhibit dates

Drawing Outside the Lines;
Taking Gallery Exhibitions to a New Level

Location: 172 E. Main Street in downtown Spartanburg
Hours:
Tuesday - Saturday: 12:00 - 5:00 p.m.
Admission: Free and open to the public
Contact: 864-583-4054 

The UPSTATE Gallery on Main officially opened its doors in February of 2015. Showcasing the permanent work of artists Andy Warhol, Jerry Uelsmann and Beatrice Riese, the Gallery offers its visitors the opportunity to see a variety of contemporary, original exhibitions in downtown Spartanburg. Visitors can also enjoy guest exhibitions and student work. 

In addition to extraordinary showcases, the Gallery offers opportunities for internships and a place for scholarly research. The Gallery also serves as a venue for community workshops, seminars, meetings and receptions.

The Gallery is one of three exhibition spaces and a collection of monumental sculptures sponsored by the University. UPSTATE Gallery on Main will join the Curtis R. Harley Gallery and FOCUS Art Education Gallery to support the mission of offering exhibitions and activities that cultivate an understanding of art as a discipline, the relationship of art to life and the historical and societal role art plays for the educated individual. Not only does this effort support the University's academic mission to students, but it also brings many visitors to the community. At the University of South Carolina Upstate, the Visual Arts Program is producing qualified designers and art educators who serve this region and beyond. As a metropolitan university, a major component of the University's role is to interact with the community and to create opportunities that engage business and industry with students and residents in an effort to encourage lifelong learning.

Details about the gallery can be found on Facebook at: UPSTATE Gallery on Main and Curtis R. Harley Art Gallery or by calling Jane Allen Nodine, gallery director at 864-503-5848.  

Contact
Fine Arts and Communication Studies
Performing Arts Center 125

Lee Neibert
Department Chair
864-503-5000
lneibert@uscupstate.edu

USC Upstate Visual Arts
Visual Arts Center
800 University Way
Spartanburg, South Carolina 29303
864-503-5689
Fax: 864-503-5835

Becky Bradham
Administrative Assistant

864-503-5689
rbradham@uscupstate.edu


Jane Allen Nodine
Professor of Art

864-503-5838
jnodine@uscupstate.edu

www.janenodine.com

Dr. Mary Lou Hightower
Assoc. Professor of Art Education
864-503-5817
mhightower@uscupstate.edu 


Matthew Donaldson
Assistant Professor of Graphic Design
864-503-5829
mdonaldson@uscupstate.edu

www.matthew-donaldson.com

Bridget Kirkland
Assistant Professor of Graphic Design
864-503-5824
bkirkland@uscupstate.edu

www.bridgetkirkland.com

Michael Marks
Assistant Professor of Art
864-503-5803
mmarks2@uscupstate.edu

www.michaelraymarks.com

Mark Flowers
Gallery Coordinator
Curtis R. Harley Art Gallery
864-503-5848
mflowers@uscupstate.edu
www.mountainteastudios.com