Utility Menu


Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice, and Women's Studies Faculty and Staff

Department Chair   
Dr. Samantha Hauptman    

Sociology Faculty

Dr. Laura Jennings  
Dr. Brigitte U. Neary

Dr. Calvin Odhiambo
Dr. Lizabeth A. Zack

Criminal Justice Faculty
Dr. Michele W. Covington, Assistant Professor 
Dr. Bob Daly, Instructor
Dr. Judith A. Harris, Associate Professor
Dr. Samantha Hauptman, Assistant Professor
Dr. Mary B. Sarver, Assistant Professor
Dr. Robert A. Sarver, III 
Dr. Reid C. Toth 

Women's and Gender Studies Faculty
Dr. Merri Lisa Johnson, Professor

Adjunct Faculty
Carol Broadus, Anthropology

Dr. Diane M. Daane, Criminal Justice
Stephen Denton, Criminal Justice
Jerry Duncan, Criminal Justice
Anthony Leibert, Criminal Justice
Brent Metcalf, Criminal Justice
Klay Peterson, Criminal Justice 
Kristin Ramey, Criminal Justice
Wesley Smith, Criminal Justice 
Michael Van Aelstyn, Criminal Justice 

Rodney B. Scherich, Sociology

Shane Canup, Geography

Administrative Assistant

Carolyn Gossett

Palmetto College Program Coordinator & Academic Advisor

Department Chair
Samantha Hauptman
Media 306 
(864) 503-5388

Contact Us
USC Upstate
Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice & Women's Studies
Media, Room 317
800 University Way
Spartanburg, SC 29303
Phone: 864-503-5701
Fax: 864-503-5705
Faculty & Staff Directory