Direct Connect

Upstate Direct Connect is an exclusive opportunity for two-year colleges partnering with the University of South Carolina Upstate. Any student who graduates with an AA, AS or select AAS degree from Greenville Technical College, Piedmont Technical College, Spartanburg Community College, Spartanburg Methodist College or Tri-County Technical College is guaranteed admission to the University of South Carolina Upstate (minimum 2.0 GPA required).

Smooth Transition Toward Your Bachelor's Degree

USC Upstate and its partnering two-year colleges want you to have a clear, smooth, worry-free transition to USC Upstate when you are ready to earn your bachelor’s degree. Once you have indicated your participation in the program, your partnering college and USC Upstate work together to prepare you for completion of your bachelor’s degree.

Benefits of Upstate Direct Connect

There are many reasons to join as soon as you decide a bachelor’s degree is your goal. As a member of Upstate Direct Connect, you will have:

  • Guaranteed entrance to USC Upstate
    Students graduating with AA, AS or select AAS degrees are guaranteed admission to USC Upstate (minimum 2.0 GPA required).
  • Accelerated admissions to USC Upstate
    Provides smooth transition through the USC Upstate process including orientation, transcripts, advising and financial aid.
  • Enhanced academic advising
    Students receive comprehensive on-site advising from both their two-year college advisors and USC Upstate advisors.
  • Priority registration at USC Upstate
    You will be able to register for classes before many other new students.
  • Concurrent admission
    You may select USC Upstate courses after completing 45 semester hours of credit at one of our Upstate Direct Connect partner schools.

Qualifying for Upstate Direct Connect

You qualify for Upstate Direct Connect if you are applying for or working on your AA, AS or selected AAS from Greenville Technical College, Piedmont Technical College, Spartanburg Community College, Spartanburg Methodist College or Tri-County Technical College and have a minimum cumulative GPA of 2.0.

Contact us

USC Upstate

Donette Stewart
Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Services
864-503-5280
dstewart@uscupstate.edu

Julia Thomas
Admissions Recruiter/Counselor
864-503-5213
jkthomas@uscupstate.edu


Spartanburg Methodist College

SMC Website

Wells Shepard
Executive Director of Enrollment
864-587-4254
shepardw@smcsc.edu

Pete Aylor
Transfer Counselor
864-587-4229
aylorp@smcsc.edu 

Greenville Technical College

Greenville Tech Website and FAQ

Chris Satterfield
PATH Coordinator
864-250-8393
chris.satterfield@gvltec.edu

Spartanburg Community College

SCC Website

Yolanda Simuel 
Academic Adviser
864-592-4657
simuely@sccsc.edu

Piedmont Technical College

PTC Website

Kimberly Neal
Transfer Coordinator
864-941-8672
neal.k@ptc.edu

Tri-County Technical College

TCTC Website

Kristen Karasek
Director
864-646-1683
kkarasek@tctc.edu