Faculty Officers


Lizabeth Zack

Faculty Chair
Media 307


Dr. Lizabeth Zack is Professor of Sociology at the University of South Carolina Upstate. She earned a Ph.D. in Sociology and History at the New School for Social Research. She teaches core courses in Introductory Sociology and Research Methods, and classes on politics, social movements and cities. She conducts research on different kinds of political activism and has authored articles on activist campaigns for autonomy, civil rights, and environmental protection. She has been the recipient of numerous grants including a Fulbright Scholarship to Jordan in 2006-07. Dr. Zack was a founding member of the USC Upstate chapter of the American Association of University Professors. She currently serves as the Faculty Chair.

Holly Pae

Past Faculty Chair
HEC 3008


Holly Pae is a Professor of Learning Disabilities in the School of Education (SOE). She earned her doctorate degree from West Virginia University. Since coming to USC Upstate, she has been a primary investigator for three grant projects (Project CREATE, Learning Disability OSEP Program Improvement Project and GEAR UP) totaling over 1.6 million dollars, served as a Board Examiner and the SOE Institutional Report author for NCATE. Her most recent co-authored article, "Building special education teacher capacity in rural schools: Impact of a grow your own program" received The Rural Special Education Quarterly 2015 Outstanding Research Article Award. 

Emily Kofoed

Faculty Recording Secretary


Dr. Emily Kofoed is an Assistant Professor of Communication in the Department of Fine Arts and Communication Studies as well as an affiliate faculty member in Women’s and Gender Studies at USC Upstate. She teaches classes in rhetoric, argumentation, and speech. Emily holds a doctorate in rhetoric and politics from Georgia State University’s Department of Communication, a master's degree from Kansas State University and a bachelor's degree in mass communications from Minnesota State University, Mankato.